Why my blog doesn’t have pictures

Quite frankly, it’s because I can’t get them to work.

Every attempt follows pretty much the same pattern.  I go to Flickr, find a photo I like that’s under the Attribution License, and download it.  Then I fire up a new subject, upload the image, and copy it to my post.  The picture shows up, happily, in the upper right corner of the post.

That’s when everything heads south.  For some reason, as soon as I try to wrap text around it, the image just disappears.  The HTML tags around it don’t, but the image itself pulls a Batman and vanishes.  No amount of clicking, editing, raving, or swearing will bring it back.

I begin Googling.  The first time I went through this exercise, I was pretty confident I’d have a solution in a few clicks.  Not so.  I’ve been to Lorelle’s excellent and informative post on adding images to a blog, and to a host of other sites that mention, however briefly, the challenges of having an image appear on your post.  But I’ve yet to find a mention of this particular issue.

It should be noted that I am using WordPress.com, rather than WordPress.org, which means I don’t have access to many of the funky features and plugins that are otherwise available.

Frustration mounting, I begin threatening my computer, WordPress, and the internet in general with dire consequences if this image does not properly appear.  I plead.  I bargain.  I promise gold and a universe full of fame.  It has no effect.

And so, with a mightly flourish of whispered profanity, I strip out the image and publish the bland, black-and-white text to my blog.  I vow that this time — really, this time — I am not even going to bother trying to include images in my blog anymore.

I keep this vow for a week or even two.  Then the superior graphic nature of the blogs about me begins to weigh on my mind, and I find myself once again drawn to try, just once more, to get a simple bloody image to work.

As you can see, I have still experienced no success.

Update: About 2 minutes after I posted this, Lorelle shed some light on the issue, as reflected in my next post.

2 Responses to Why my blog doesn’t have pictures

  1. Well, since you can’t use WordPress Plugins on a WordPress.com blog, that’s the wrong article. WordPress.com Blog Bling: Decorating Your WordPress.com Blog with photographs, graphics, and more is the right article. :D

    I don’t know what you are trying to do with the HTML but adding images is very easy. The “wrap” effect of the text wrapping around the image is explained in Wrapping Text Around Images, though in WordPress.com, unless you are using the Sandbox Theme and have custom CSS, you have to use the align attribute within the image to align="left" or right. The text will then wrap around the image.

    This should be improved in WordPress 2.5 which should arrive on WordPress.com any day now.

  2. siegecurmudgeon says:

    Wow, that was a quick response. Thanks very much for the insight, Lorelle! You’ve helped me solve this and finally start adding images to my blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

