Gratitude – 02/12/2008

I am grateful: 

  1. That Peter Jackson will be involved in the production of The Hobbit.  I loved Lord Of The Rings, and thought he did a fantastic job directing it, so when the relationship with New Line broke down I felt great sorrow about what may happen to the quality of The Hobbit.
  2. That I’m uncomfortable in my new role.  It sounds a bit strange (even to me as I write it) but given the choice between being challenged, struggling, uncomfortable, and in constant fear of failure, versus being stone-solid bored — I think it’s better to be uncomfortable.  My ulcer, of course, may have a different perspective.
  3. I’m kidding.  I don’t have an ulcer.  At least not yet.  And for that, I’m way grateful.
2 Responses to Gratitude – 02/12/2008

  1. Lynnita says:

    I, too, am happy to see that PJ will be involved with the Hobbit. But I wonder about the Executive Producer role. Will he still have the same level of influence on the movie? I see that a director is yet to be named.

  2. siegecurmudgeon says:

    This is a good point. I’m not clear on the role of a producer, myself, so I scampered over to Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Movie_producer) to see what they had to say.

    It’s not, I’m afraid, entirely encouraging. According to The Big Wiki, producers used to have ultimate creative control, but that has now shifted to the director. In most cases, I’m fine with that, but given the quality of PJ’s directing and the merits of Lord of the Rings, I’d rather he was more directly involved in the production.

Leave a Reply

