Fashion

Christina Binkley has an article in the Wall Street Journal today that brushes on a question I’ve asked myself many times: why do fashion shows flaunt designs that nobody in their right mind would ever wear in public?

I should clarify that I am in no way a fashionista, so take these comments as coming from the layperson whose interest in fashion is purely pragmatic.  I want my clothes to keep me from being naked, keep me comfortable, and make me look good (insofar as that is possible), and in that order.  So when I’m flipping through channels and hear the thumping music announcing a model’s strut down the runway, and see a waif on the brink of starvation emerge from the fog wearing a truck tire held up by jumper cables, and hear the announcers talk about a designer’s bold choice of material and the clever commentary they’re making on the environment, I have to stop myself from banging my head against the coffee table and lamenting the global collapse of intelligence.

Clearly, these fashions weren’t designed for me.  But I have to ask – were they actually designed for anybody?

At least the article in the WSJ highlights some designers who are making clothes that could be worn somewhere other than the catwalk.

 There.  That’s my rant for the day.

Leave a Reply

